• Politics

    Mahama wins in 2024, Ken Agyapong will be NPP flagbearer in 2028 – Kwakye Ofosu

    A member of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Felix Kwakye Ofosu has said that whichever way the internal elections of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) end, it is a disaster for Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia.

    Kwakye Ofosu said Dr Bawumia simply doesn’t command the overwhelming level of support required in his party to get the wind in his sails for the 2024 elections.

    In a tweet, the former Deputy Minister of Information said “Two definite predictions: JM wins in 2024.Ken Agyapong will be NPP flagbearer in 2028,all things being equal.

    “Pitiful attempt to put a brave face on a weak showing by Bawumia and his supporters.Massive internal revolt against the Akufo-Addo/Bawumia tag team. He goes into 2024,a very weak candidate devoid of a solid mandate from his party.”

    Provisional results have been declared in the Assin Central Constituency in New Patriotic Party’s presidential primaries on Saturday, November 4.

    Member of Parliament Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, who stood in Saturday’s elections, polled 491 out of the total valid votes cast. His closest contender Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia had 16 votes.

    The other two aspirants – Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Francis Addai-Nimoh – had no votes. In Assin South Constituency, Mr Agyapong polled 478 votes while Dr Bawumia polled 158 votes. Dr Afriyie Akoto and Mr Addai-Nimoh had 1 and 0 respectively.

    From the Bolgatanga East Constituency in the Upper East Region, out of a total of 251 votes cast, Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia polled 242 votes.

    Assin Central Member of Parliament (MP) Kennedy Ohene Agyapong polled 8 votes while Francis Addai-Nimoh, a former MP for Asante Mampong Constituency, had a single vote.

    Former Food and Agriculture Minister Dr Owusus Afriyie Akoto had no votes.

    In Bunkpurugu in the North East Region, it is a clean sweep of votes for the Vice President as he polled 522 out of 522.

    The rest had no votes and there were no rejected nor spoilt ballots.

    At Yagaba Kubori in the same region, the Vice President polled 366 votes with three (3) spoilt ballots.

    The other three aspirants had no votes.

    At the Party’s headquarters in Accra, where government officials voted, Dr Bawumia polled 254 votes out of a total 393 valid votes while Mr Ohene Agyapong had 133 votes.

    Mr Addai-Nimoh had 4 votes while Dr Afriyie Akoto had 4 votes.

    Most of the centers are sorting ballots after polls closed at 2:00pm.

    3 news.com

    Leave A Comment